Go Cheapway… to Middleton

Three ages of shopping, one town

Just off the M60 is a medium sized town which seems to detail – at least on Tuesdays, Fridays and Saturdays – three ages of shopping. Outside on Fountain Street is its open market. Close by is the town’s early 1970s shopping precinct. Directly opposite its market ground is the ubiquitous TESCO Extra superstore. Continue reading “Go Cheapway… to Middleton”

404 Recovery Not Found? Oldham and Tameside Dogged By Low Wages

Boroughs bottom and second bottom for full time wages in Greater Manchester

Ashton Market (from Bow Street)
Though Tameside is second bottom throughout Greater Manchester, the figures only reflect the local labour market. Residents in Tameside are just as likely to work in surrounding areas, particularly Manchester, Oldham and Stockport.

ONS figures up to April 2013 show Oldham and Tameside boroughs as having the lowest and second lowest full time wages in Greater Manchester. Continue reading “404 Recovery Not Found? Oldham and Tameside Dogged By Low Wages”

Did I Really Want One of Those? 12. Neck Glass

Jewellery for wine lovers or forgetful drinkers

05 January 2014, 3.30pm: After a hard session on the Slimming Wheel, my partner fancied a 2008 Chardonnay which I won at a raffle in South Milford. It came from a Women’s Institute Beetle Drive, raising much needed cash for MacMillan Nurses. Then I found we were short of glasses. I suggested using one of four from our K-Tel Bottle Cutter. Or a frosted one which Auntie Norah gave me (my uncle won it on a Tombola at a beer festival in New Mills; the second prize was two of them).

In a desperate attempt, I tried the shed. Then I found this curio, whose last airing was in front of Nice Time or Do Not Adjust Your Set. I couldn’t imagine Germaine Greer, Denise Coffey or David Jason being seen with one of them… even in 1969.

Continue reading “Did I Really Want One of Those? 12. Neck Glass”