It’s Up the Poll! 2015: The Mossley Town Council Election

Part two of East of the M60‘s preview of the Local, Parish and General Elections

  • Greens to stand in all three wards;
  • Present council: 5 Independent, 4 Labour.
Another view from Whitehall: Mossley’s very own, looking out to Micklehurst.

The people of Mossley will also have the joy of receiving three ballot papers. As well as the Tameside MBC local elections and the General Election (where Mossley falls under the Stalybridge and Hyde constituency), there is also the Town Council elections. The whole council is up for election.

With the continuing saga of Mossley Market Place and the introduction of paid parking, there is every chance the independent candidates could swell their numbers. Also standing as candidates in the Tameside MBC local elections are Idu Miah (Labour) and Christine Clark (Green) in the Mossley ward. In the Dukinfield and Audenshaw wards for the Green Party, Julie Wood and Mark Stanley.

Present council, by ward:

Lancashire Ward

  • Frank Travis (Labour);
  • Marie Milne (Independent);
  • Pat Dosset (Independent).

Yorkshire Ward

  • Eleanor Shember-Critchley (Labour);
  • Tony Milne (Independent).

Cheshire Ward

  • Dean Aylett (Independent);
  • Joseph Douthwaite (Labour);
  • Val Carter (Independent);
  • Idu Miah (Labour).

Wards contested, by party:

  • Labour (including Labour Co-op): 3;
  • The Green Party of England and Wales: 3;
  • Independent candidates: 3;
  • Liberal Democrats: 1.

Number of candidates, by party and wards (L: Lancashire, Y: Yorkshire, C: Cheshire):

  • Labour (including Labour Co-op): 9 (4C, 3L, 2Y);
  • The Green Party of England and Wales: 4 (1C, 2L, 1Y);
  • Independent candidates: 9 (4C, 3L, 2Y);
  • Liberal Democrats: 1 (1C).

*                               *                              *

Candidates by ward:

Please note that the asterisk denotes a sitting councillor. Each ward name is colour coded according to its incumbent party.

Cheshire Ward (four votes per ballot)

  • Dean Aylett, Independent candidate;
  • Christine Clark, Green Party;
  • Amy Connolly, Independent candidate;
  • Joseph Douthwaite, Labour Party;
  • Martin Kiely, Liberal Democrats;
  • Chris Lyness, Independent candidate;
  • Paul McKechnie, Independent candidate;
  • Idu Miah, Labour Party;
  • Mary Mitchell, Labour Party;
  • David Wilde, Labour Party.

Lancashire Ward (three votes per ballot)

  • Greg Brett, Independent candidate;
  • Gary Compston, Independent candidate;
  • Claire Hardisty, Independent candidate;
  • Jack Homer, Labour Party;
  • Stephen Kilduff, Labour Party;
  • Jacintha Manchester, Green Party;
  • Mark Stanley, Green Party;
  • Frank Travis, Labour Party;

Yorkshire Ward (two votes per ballot)

  • Lesley Bill, Independent candidate;
  • Sam Hancock, Labour Party;
  • Eleanor Shember-Critchley, Labour Party;
  • Martin Stimson, Independent candidate;
  • Julie Wood, Green Party.

*                               *                              *

Next up on It’s Up The Poll! 2015

We shall be looking at the borough’s Parliamentary election candidates. Not forgetting our look at policies likely to affect its 210,000 citizens.

S.V., 10 April 2015.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: