Jason and the Argos Gnomes (Part Seven): The Cresta Bear

What the **** were they thinking?

As a special treat, my father came back from Fine Fare with a bottle of Cresta. As it happens, the gigantic store off Mottram Road was doing an offer. He couldn’t pull the wool over my eyes as I saw the full page advert in this week’s North Cheshire Herald.

Then he told me that the bear himself (you know, the one you see in the adverts between Runaround)¬†would be coming on Saturday. ‘Yippee!’ I though as that was our normal shopping day. So Dad’ll be sat in The Sportsman with a pint of Chesters’ Mild whilst my Mum and younger brother will be carted ’round Hyde Market, Tesco, Gateway and Fine Fare. Then we’ll catch the¬†346 together (better since I can go all the way to Ashton from Newton – thank you Greater Manchester Transport!) back to Shaw Hall Estate.

Then I was disappointed to find that the Cresta Bear wasn’t six feet tall. He didn’t even say “frothy, man”. It was saggy and bit baggy at the seams.

Continue reading “Jason and the Argos Gnomes (Part Seven): The Cresta Bear”

Up ↑

